Flooded Ohio counties declared disaster areas

Flood waters cover the Miami Valley. (WDTN Photo)
Flood waters cover the Miami Valley. (WDTN Photo)

COLUMBUS, Ohio (WDTN) – Several local counties were declared disaster areas Thursday following recent flooding.

The U.S. Small Business Administration granted Ohio’s request to issue the disaster declaration for Clark and Lorain counties. It includes counties that border Clark County, so Champaign, Greene, Miami and Montgomery are also included.

The declaration lets residents and businesses who suffered damage during the May 21 and 22 storms to apply for long-term, low interest loans.

Miami County alone estimates damage there at more than $26-million. Flash flooding shut down parts of Interstate 70 and 75 in Miami and Montgomery counties.

Visit the SBA online for information about the loans.

WDTN.com provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others and keep the conversation on topic and civil. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s