Mayor announces Dayton Arcade Task Force


DAYTON, Ohio (WDTN) – Dayton Mayor Nan Whaley announce Tuesday the formation of an Arcade Task Force to evaluate the future fate of the downtown Arcade buildings.

The task force will review an analysis of the Arcade and nine surrounding buildings to determine the conditions of the fundamental structures and related systems.

“If ever there was a structure in Dayton that was sentimental it is the Arcade,” said Dayton Mayor Whaley. “It is my hope that we can find a solution to preserve at least a portion of the buildings history without significantly costing the City taxpayers an unjustified amount for redevelopment.”

All the buildings in the analysis have been vacant since March of 1991 and are listed on the National Register of Historic Places except the former Schear’s Market and McCrory’s.

The properties will also be reviewed and assessed for redevelopment opportunities.

The task force includes representation from local business leaders, financial institutions, legislators and City staff. The members are:

  • Co-Chairs:
    David Bohardt, St. Vincent de Paul
    Steve Petitjean, Fifth Third Bank
  • Members:
    Rachel Bankowitz, City of Dayton
    John Gower, City of Dayton
    Dave Williams, CityWide Development Corporation
    Marty Smallwood, Downtown Priority Board
    Mark Parks, Downtown Dayton Partnership Board
    /Lewaro Construction
    Neil Freund, Freund, Freeze & Arnold
    Aaron Smiles, Matrix Realty Group
    Ed Kress, Dinsmore & Shohl
    Shannon Isom, YWCA of Dayton
    Fred Strahorn, State Representative provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others and keep the conversation on topic and civil. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

  • David Bohardt to Receive Award | St. Vincent de Paul Dayton

    […] he is co-chair of the Arcade Task Force, whose work led to a January 2016 private sector agreement to restore the Historic Arcade Block […]

blog comments powered by Disqus