Low voter turnout, voters say “Yes” to levies in special election

Election Day May 5, 2015. (WDTN Photo)
Election Day May 5, 2015. (WDTN Photo)

DAYTON, Ohio (WDTN) – In Tuesday’s election in Montgomery County, a little more than 8 percent of registered voters went out to the polls.

The low voter turnout was mimicked across the Buckeye state, but that did not diminish the gravity of issues and races on the ballots across Montgomery County and many other counties in the Miami Valley.

For many cities and townships, they voted yes to levies, some for school districts, others for fire and EMS services.

In Huber Heights, 86 percent of voters reported to the polls and they overwhelmingly passed a continuation of a .25 percent income tax over the next 10 years.

City leaders say the levy will fund police, fire and EMS services.

Similarly, in Harrison Township residents passed a levy to support the departments of their first responders, who face a loss of more than $2 million following state funding cuts.

For the next 5 years, residents can expect a 4-mils increase; in that township, 88 percent of precincts reported.

In Tipp City, it was a close call with “Yes” vote for a school tax levy of 4.95 mil. 51 percent voted yes and 49 percent voted no with 100 percent of precincts casting ballots.

Overall in Montgomery County, levies also passed with a large majority in Clay Township, Washington Township, Beavercreek, Kettering, Brookville, Northridge, Valley View and Carlisle.

The Warren County Career Center Levy was the only levy that did not pass in Montgomery County with 60 percent voting against the tax increase.

In Miami County, Bethel Township, Troy and West Milton passed their respective levies.

For residents of Greene County, levies were passed in Bellebrook-Sugarcreek, Yellow Springs, Xenia, Beavercreek, Cedarville and Spring Valley.

Meanwhile, voters also made their choices on which candidates they want to represent them or move onto the general elections in November.

In Dayton, 4 out of the 5 commission candidates moved on to the next election.

Incumbent Matt Joseph (1st), Chris Shaw (2nd), Scott Sliver (3rd) and Darryl Fairchild (4th) will be campaigning in the next 6 months to vie for your vote and 2 seats up for election.

Commissioner Dean Lovelace, who has served the city in the last 20 years, is serving his fifth and last term. Commissioner Matt Joseph is running for re-election.

Meanwhile, it is the end of the race for candidate Hazel Rountree, a Dayton Board of Education member and ombudsperson for Wright State University, who came in 5th Tuesday with 12 percent of the vote, just 2 percent shy of Fairchild’s 14 percent.

In Huber Heights, Council-at-Large incumbent Jan Vargo walked away with a larger majority, earning 41 percent of the vote.

She was followed by Glenn Otto in 2nd with 29 percent of the vote; Jaclynn Lee Shook with 16 percent of the vote; and Matthew Truman earned the least number of votes with 13 percent.

2 NEWS has extensive coverage of all the races across the Miami Valley.

If you’d like to see more coverage on your city, township or village, you can see the results for every county in the Miami Valley here.


WDTN.com provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others and keep the conversation on topic and civil. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s