OSU’s Elflein wins Rimington Trophy

New York, N.Y. – Ohio State senior Pat Elflein was awarded the 2016 Rimington Trophy, given to the nation’s most outstanding center, on Thursday, December 8 at the ESPNU Red Carpet Show preceding the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show.

The winner of the Rimington Trophy is selected by determining the consensus All-American center pick from the Walter Camp, Sporting News and Football Writers Association of America All-American teams.

Elflein, the 18th recipient of the award, will be honored by the Rimington Trophy Committee and the Boomer Esiason Foundation at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Nebraska on January 14, 2017 – in the same city where trophy namesake and Nebraska All-American, Dave Rimington, earned his place in the College Football Hall of Fame.

Because of his leadership both on and off the field, Head Coach Urban Myer stated, “Pat is an All-American center, but he’s also an all-American person, which is even more important. He came back to school for a fifth season to complete his degree and to lead this young team. I have tremendous respect for Pat. That’s why I named him a team captain back in January. I love him like a member of my family and there’s nothing I wouldn’t do for him.”

Named the Big Ten Conference’s Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year this season and a first-team all-Big Ten choice for the third consecutive year, Elflein was not only a Rimington Trophy finalist, but also a finalist for the Outland Trophy and one of 20 players under consideration for the Lombardi Award. A team captain and a starter in 40 consecutive games, Elflein has anchored an Ohio State offensive line that ranks ninth nationally in rushing at 258.3 yards per game and is one of three units selected as finalists for the Joe Moore Offensive Line of the Year Award.

“I am incredibly grateful to the representatives of the Rimington Trophy and to those who selected me to win this award,” Elflein said. “I am truly honored and proud to win this award and to be able accept it here in Atlanta with my family.”

“I thank coach Meyer and my position coaches – coach Studrawa and coach Warinner – for everything they’ve done to help me become the player and person I want to be. And I also want to thank my current and former teammates, and especially my offensive line teammates, for their great work and for the culture of respect, effort and team that we have within this program.”

About the Rimington Trophy

The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I-A College Football. Since its inception, the sixteen-year old award has raised over $2.75 million for the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $120 million for CF Research. Dave Rimington, the award’s namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy’s only two-time winner as the nation’s finest college interior lineman.

WDTN.com provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others and keep the conversation on topic and civil. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s